Gerakan In The News

Gerakan president will likely run in Teluk Intan

Oct 19, 2022

KUALA LUMPUR: Gerakan Rakyat president Datuk Dr. Dominic Lau is likely to switch from Batu parliamentary seat to Teluk Intan where he would continue with the battle of former party president Datuk Mah Siew Keong, a former Teluk Intan MP.

Lau lost in Batu parliamentary seat for two consecutive elections in 2013 and 2018.

The Teluk Intan used to a stronghold of Gerakan where Mah was the MP for three terms from 1999 to 2004, 2004 to 2008 and 2014 to 2018.

Mah lost to M. Manogaran from DAP in the 2008 election by 1,470 votes, and then Seah Leong Pang, also from DAP in the 2013 election by 7,313 votes.

Seah died of cancer in May 2014 and Mah recaptured the seat by defeating DAP’s Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud in the by-election with a razor-thin majority of 238 votes.

However, Mah lost to Perak DAP chairman Nga Kor Ming in the 14th general election in 2018 by 11,179 votes.

Prior to the dissolution of parliament, Lau had planned to focus in Penang where Gerakan was established.

However, as Penang has not dissolved its state assembly, Lau is prompted to switch to Teluk Intan instead.

Lau has openly said many times that he would be contesting in Penang.

A source told Sin Chew Daily Perikatan Nasional discussed the matter in the meeting that Lau would likely be contesting the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat.

It is learned that Perikatan Nasional has decided to field a candidate from Gerakan in Teluk Intan.

The Teluk Intan parliamentary seat is made up of 42.6% Malay voters, 38.5% Chinese voters and 18.3% of Indian voters.

Lay may make a breakthrough for Gerakan in Teluk Intan as the incumbent Nga is said to be contesting elsewhere.